Home Blog Blog Uncategorized 2009 Slide Slam best yet!

2009 Slide Slam best yet!

Our 4th annual Spring Slide slam was hands down the best yet!
For those of you who are unfamiliar with our Slide Slams, here is how they work:
WSW hosts one slide slam a year. For this event three curators are chosen by the workshop, the curators may be artists, gallery owners, teachers- anyone with experience in the Hudson valley art community. These three curators then chose five artists to present their work at the Slide Slam. Each artist is alloted 5 minutes to show their slides and talk about their artwork, making up one jam-packed evening of creative insight & inspiration!

This spring, twenty artists presented their work to an audience of over 120. Thank you to this spring’s Curators, Brian Wallace, Mimi Graminski and Emily Puthoff, all of our presenting Artists, The Rosendale Theater for graciously hosting this event, Lorrie Fredette, who organized the slam with endless patience and efficiency, and to all of you who came out to support the workshop & get your head packed with more art than you thought humanly possible!

After the jump: Images & links from almost all of our artists are below, enjoy!

draper.jpg

Simon Draper, habitatforartists.blogspot.com/

picture-1.png

Deb Davidovits, ddavidovits.blogspot.com/


graminksi.jpg

Mimi Graminski, mimigraminski.com/Mimi/Home.html

hash_14.jpg

Arthur Hash, arthurhash.com/

iannarelli_17.jpg

Peter Iannarelli, peteriannarelli.com/

kucera_09.jpg

Ellen Kucera, leahellenkucera.com/

leinberger.jpg

Rena Leinberger, zggallery.com/leinberger.htm

mathies.jpg

Bibiana Huang Matheis, bibiphoto.com/

putoff.jpg

Emily Puthoff, emilyputhoff.com/

renbeck_18.jpg

Johanne Renbeck, johannerenbeck.com/

shiftan.jpg

Anat Shiftan, anellegandelman.com/anat.html

sniezek.jpg

Elena Sniezek, http://community.tempe.gov/studioartists/Artists/Past/Sniezek/portfolio.htm

strauss_05.jpg

Tilly Strauss, tillystudio.com/

swenson.jpg

Jennifer Swenson, jenswenson.com/

taylor_12.jpg

Joy Taylor, www.joytaylorart.com/

wetzel_18.jpg

Ruth Wetzel, ruthwetzel.com/

wright_14.jpg

Tricia Wright, triciawright.com/

And

Itty Neuhaus-Schuck, (no web presence- But you can read about Itty’s work in an article writen for the Chronogram, by Beth Wilson here)

Comments

  1. wrote on April 13th, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    tilly

    I loved being a part of the slide slam- The other artists were fascinating. Did anyone else notice how often the word “ephemera” was used to describe sculpture?

Add a comment